Why I Decided To Go Mediterranean

Colorful Ingredients
Colorful Italian Cuisine Ingredients

About three years ago, I decided to embark on a diet lifestyle to lose weight and keep it off.  I had lost weight in the past but would always regain it.  This time, I wanted a diet that I could stay with for the long run.  I went on a low fat diet for one year.  I lost 22 pounds, but my blood cholesterol shot up from 218 mg/dL to 228 mg/dL.  I was not happy with that.  After doing some research, I came across the Mediterranean diet.  It appealed to me because it included healthy fats, was plant based, and seemed like I would not be sacrificing anything.  It also had the scientific backing as a very heart healthy diet.

On the Mediterranean diet I eat lots of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, nuts, and fish.  Moderate amounts of poultry and dairy, and my fat/oil of choice is olive oil (extra virgin).  Very limited amounts of red and processed meats.  I also take 45 minute walks, five days a week.

After being on the Mediterranean diet for 2 years, I have lost 44 pounds, and my blood cholesterol has dropped to 147 mg/dL.  I am truly very happy with this diet lifestyle.  I enjoy the meals, and I am getting the weight loss and cholesterol lowering benefits.  Most importantly, I have had no desire to reverted to my old way of eating.  I am truly on this diet lifestyle for life.  I hope you will join me on this journey to good health.

Leave a Comment

